News - December 19, 2023

INCOMPAS Files Comments in 45 States and Territories For BEAD Initial Proposal Volume II

WASHINGTON, D.C. – December 19, 2023 –
Ahead of the upcoming December 27 deadline for states to submit their proposals to NTIA, INCOMPAS, the internet and competitive networks association, today filed the last of its public comments to state broadband offices on their Initial Proposal Volume II, covering implementation plans for NTIA’s Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Program. In total, INCOMPAS has submitted comments to 45 states and territories including Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia, since November.

“INCOMPAS represents a diverse range of member companies who are building the networks of the future and helping to bridge the digital divide,” INCOMPAS CEO Chip Pickering said. “We stand committed to working with NTIA, state and local officials, and all stakeholders on delivering the goal of internet for all and sustaining the BEAD Program’s long-term success.”

“In our 45 filings, we highlighted the need for state offices to address barriers to deployment including gaining access to the public rights-of-way, and streamlining the permitting process. We also included our “Broadband Ready City” Checklist as a guide for state and local governments to coordinate and effectively implement the grants given through the BEAD program,” Pickering continued. “Additionally, we stressed the need to incorporate innovative deployment processes, invest in future-proof technologies, and ensure each state supports open access to encourage more states to reward subgrantees who comply with offering wholesale.”

“As this process continues to unfold, we will continue to advocate directly to states to ensure a competitive bid process for all internet service providers to participate in this once-in-a-lifetime, historic grant funding.”

INCOMPAS has filed comments with the following States and Territories:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming