News - December 17, 2020

FirstLight Fiber President and CEO Kurt Van Wagenen to Serve Third Term as INCOMPAS Board Chair

WASHINGTON, D.C. (December 17, 2020) – INCOMPAS, the internet and competitive networks association, today announced that its Board of Directors re-elected Kurt Van Wagenen, President and CEO of FirstLight Fiber, to serve as its Board Chair. The Board also re-elected Michael B. Galvin, General Counsel of Granite Telecommunications LLC as Vice Chair, and elected Brian Worthen, CEO of Mammoth Networks to serve as Treasurer.

Rounding out the Executive Committee are three at-large members: Jon Clopton, Vice President, Network Cost, Planning and Carrier Relations of Inteliquent; Ronald Mudry, Senior Vice President and Chief Revenue Officer of Uniti Group Inc.; and Gary Watts, Founder and CEO of Fuse.Cloud.

“I am honored that my peers on the INCOMPAS Board have entrusted me with a third term in this leadership role. I am proud to serve the association and its members, who have been at the forefront of keeping Americans connected through the pandemic and helping families who have been working and learning remotely over the past nine months,” said Van Wagenen. “I believe 2021 will be one of the most transformational years for broadband policy, as we seek universal connectivity goals for all Americans who want more competition, faster speeds and more affordable options. I look forward to working with INCOMPAS and its members as we continue to advocate for competition policy and innovation that help grow their businesses.”

Last month, the association held elections for companies to serve two-year terms, running 2020-2022. Member companies, and their representatives, now serving this term on the Board include: 

Small Company

  • Fatbeam - Tony Perkins, COO 
  • FiberComm - Al Aymar, CEO
  • Fuse.Cloud - Gary Watts, Founder and CEO
  • IdeaTek Telcom, LLC - Daniel Friesen, Managing Member and Innovation Officer
  • Mammoth - Brian Worthen, CEO
  • Socket Telecom - Carson Coffman, COO and President
Medium Company
  • Allied Telecom Group, LLC - Ken Williams, Founder, CEO and CTO
  • C Spire - Chris Champion, Vice President, Government Relations
  • Crown Castle - Chris Levendos, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
  • Education Networks of America (ENA) - Kitty Ganier, General Counsel
  • FirstLight Fiber - Kurt Van Wagenen, President and CEO
  • Inteliquent - Jon Clopton, Vice President, Network Cost, Planning and Carrier Relations
  • Uniti Group Inc. - Ron Mudry, Senior Vice President and Chief Revenue Officer
Large Company
  • DISH - Jeff Blum, Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Government Affairs
  • Facebook - Brian Rice, Director, Public Policy
  • Granite Telecommunications, LLC - Mike Galvin, General Counsel
  • Microsoft Corporation - Paula Boyd, Senior Director, Government and Regulatory Affairs
  • Netflix Inc. - Bakari Middleton, Lead, U.S. Federal Policy
  • Twitter - Laura Culbertson, Head of U.S. Public Policy
  • Windstream - Thomas Whitehead, Vice President, Federal Government Affairs