News - November 8, 2019

Members Elected to INCOMPAS Board of Directors

FirstLight Fiber President and CEO Kurt Van Wagenen to Serve Second Term as Board Chair

WASHINGTON, D.C. (November 8, 2019) – Members of INCOMPAS, the internet and competitive networks association, elected companies to serve on the INCOMPAS Board of Directors for the 2019-2021 term during the annual membership meeting at The 2019 INCOMPAS Show. These newly elected Board members join the others who are currently serving their 2018-2020 terms.  

Earlier this week, at its first meeting with the newly elected directors, the Board re-elected Kurt Van Wagenen, president and CEO of FirstLight Fiber to serve as its Board chair. The Board also re-elected Michael B. Galvin, general counsel of Granite Telecommunications LLC as vice chair and treasurer.

Rounding out the Executive Committee are three at-large members: Jon Clopton, vice president, Network Cost, Planning and Carrier Relations at Inteliquent; Ronald Mudry, senior vice president and chief revenue officer for Uniti Group Inc. and Uniti Fiber; Brian Worthen, CEO of Mammoth Networks.

“It is a great honor to have the confidence of my peers, who selected me to serve as INCOMPAS Board Chair for another term.  I look forward to continuing the strong collaboration with my colleagues on the Board, our robust membership and the INCOMPAS staff as we continue the excellent advocacy work and expand opportunities for our growing membership,” Van Wagenen said. “We have a great opportunity to continue building a vibrant ecosystem that brings together a diversity of companies at an exciting time in our industry.  We all share the common goals of driving and enhancing broadband deployment while we ensure that consumers and businesses have access to competitive, innovative and cost-effective communications solutions.”
Van Wagenen also extended his appreciation to outgoing Board members Deborah Ward, CEO of Televergence and the first female Board Chair of INCOMPAS, and Mark Scully, CEO of ComSpan Communications Inc., for their long service to the association.

Companies joining the Board for the 2019-2021 term include: 

Small Company

  • Edward E. Hilliary Jr., Managing Partner – Hilliary Communications 
  • Ray LaChance, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer – ZenFi Networks

Medium Company
  • Greg Rogers, Deputy General Counsel – Bandwidth

Large Company
  • Sean Sullivan, Vice President – MetTel 
  • Milo Medin, Vice President – Google

INCOMPAS, the internet and competitive networks association, is the leading trade group advocating for competition policy across all networks. INCOMPAS represents Internet, streaming, communications and technology companies large and small, advocating for laws and policies that promote competition, innovation and economic development. Learn more at or follow us on Twitter: @INCOMPAS